2016 Coltman Fellows

Melissa Accordino, MD, of Columbia University Medical Center, and Anne Chiang, MD, PhD, of the Yale University School of Medicine have been awarded Coltman Fellowships from The Hope Foundation.

Accordino’s fellowship will support her work comparing disease monitoring in patients with metastatic breast and colorectal cancers.

Chiang will utilize Hope support for her efforts on MIDAS: A Randomized, Phase III Study for PD-L1 Positive Advanced Non-Squamous Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC) Patients Treated with Pembrolizumab in Combination with Maintenance or Induction Chemotherapy with Immunosignature-Driven Analysis.

The Dr. Charles A. Coltman, Jr., Fellowship Program awards $100,000 over two years to engage outstanding young investigators from SWOG member institutions in learning clinical trial methodology in an academic and cooperative group environment.Supporting SWOG

SWOG institutions may nominate up to two candidates annually. The applicant must have a mentorship arrangement with a notable Group leader who has proven expertise in clinical trials recruitment and management.

2016 Impact Awards
Cycle 1 Grants Awarded

Joshi J. Alumkal, MD   Oregon Health & Science University, Knight Cancer Institute
“Targeting AR-Independent Mechanisms of Prostate Cancer Progression with BET Bromodomain Inhibition”

Michael W. Deininger, MD, PhD   University of Utah, Huntsman Cancer Institute
“Targeting Nuclear-Cytoplasmic Transport in Myelofibrosis”

Eduardo Vilar Sanchez, MD, PhD   University of Texas, MD Anderson Cancer Center
“Sulindac plus Bexarotene for Chemoprevention of Colorectal Polyps”

The SWOG/Hope Foundation Impact Award is a funding program that encourages novel and innovative SWOG research by supporting early and conceptual stages of these projects.

Individual awards are funded up to $250,000 and may be spent over a 2-year period. Funding for smaller feasibility projects that are critical to the conduct of future SWOG trials are also encouraged.

[cta]View 2016 Funding Calendar[/cta]