The Hope Foundation’s fall board meeting featured the approval of $3.2 million dollars in grants to support SWOG in 2022, and it also ushered in new executive leadership.

A dozen programs will fund pilot projects and translational research, career development and fellowships across cancer types, as well as the implementation of ongoing diversity, equity and inclusion efforts to transform SWOG’s leadership, membership, and clinical trials serving patients nationwide.

Raymond Osarogiagbon, MD
Don S. Dizon, MD

The Hope Foundation Board of Directors is honored to welcome Dr. Ray Osarogiagbon (Baptist Cancer Center, Memphis, TN) as our new board chair. He will partner with Dr. Don Dizon (Lifespan Cancer Institute, Providence, RI) as vice chair. Current board member David Gibson (Middlebury College) will assume the role of secretary, and Cavitt Randall will continue on as treasurer. After six years of Hope leadership, Dr. Charles Blanke (Oregon Health & Science University, Portland) will remain an active member of the board throughout the remainder of his term as SWOG Group Chair.

The October 12 session additionally saw the election and warm welcome of three new board members: Drs. Sarah Goldberg and Syed Ahmad, and SWOG statistician Cathy Tangen. The trio replaces Drs. Michael LeBlanc, Jason Zell, and Lee Ellis who have completed their terms after successfully navigating Hope through a period of key strategic and programmatic advancements in support of its mission to advance cancer care and research.

View all current board members here.