We’re pleased to highlight these recent awardees from our programs supporting SWOG Coltman Fellows and Impact Awards.

Coltman Fellowship Program for Early Career Investigators

The primary purpose of the Dr. Charles A. Coltman, Jr., Fellowship is to engage outstanding early career investigators from SWOG-affiliated institutions in learning clinical trial methodology within an academic and network group environment that will lead to independent clinical research, while honoring the legacy of long-time SWOG Chair and leader, Dr. Charles A. Coltman, Jr.

2018 Coltman Fellows

Erin Cobain, MD (left)
University of Michigan

Yingqi Zhao, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Impact Award Program

The SWOG/Hope Foundation Impact Award is a funding program that encourages novel and innovative SWOG research by supporting early and conceptual stages of these projects. The work proposed should use resources from completed SWOG trials or be directly translatable to future clinical trials in SWOG and the National Clinical Trials Network (NCTN).

These studies may involve scientific risk but potentially lead to a breakthrough in a particular area, or to the development of novel techniques, agents, methodologies, models, or applications that could have a major impact on cancer research.

2018 Impact Award Grantees

Austin Kirschner, MD (left)
Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Brian Shuch, MD

Richard Burack, MD, PhD
University of Rochester Medical Center