Sarah Goldberg, MD, of the Yale Cancer Center, and Joseph Unger, PhD, of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, have been awarded Coltman Fellowships from The Hope Foundation.

Goldberg’s fellowship will support her investigation of treatment for advanced non-small cell lung cancer. She was previously named a SWOG Young Investigator in 2013.

Unger will utilize his fellowship to further his work as a health services researcher and biostatistician.

With funding from The Hope Foundation, the Dr. Charles A. Coltman, Jr., Fellowship Program awards $100,000 over two years to engage outstanding young investigators from SWOG member institutions in learning clinical trial methodology in an academic and cooperative group environment.

SWOG institutions may nominate up to two candidates annually. The applicant must have a mentorship arrangement with a notable Group leader who has proven expertise in clinical trials recruitment and management.